I think this is an underrated quality, but it shouldn’t be: she was always encouraging and upbeat when I spoke with her, which means a lot in the midst of a dismal job market.

The smartest decision I made when I changed careers was to work with Aileen on my job search.  I needed help updating my resume, writing effective cover letters, and recognizing opportunities.  Aileen was the right person for the job; she helped me put my best foot forward by highlighting my relevant professional experience on these documents, and showing me how to relate my work experience and job responsibilities.

With Aileen’s guidance and feedback, I created strong, customized application materials and became more and more familiar with my own skills and capabilities.  I gained the confidence I needed to navigate the job market and find a rewarding job in my field. Despite the ups and downs along the way, Aileen always saw the positive in my progress and never failed to point it out.  She kept me on track moving forward, staying positive and celebrating large and small victories alike.   

Aileen shared invaluable resources with me regarding interviewing and job offer negotiating.  She is immensely skilled at showing you how to reveal your best self in an interview by guiding you on preparation and providing expert advice, drawing on her vast knowledge and considerable experience in career counseling.  

It has been a joy to work with Aileen whose warm and engaging personality is ever-present in every interaction with her, be it in person or on a call.  I value her input and continue to seek her advice, and believe she will be an asset to me at every stage of my career.  I recommend Aileen enthusiastically and without reservation.  - Sheila O'Donnell, April 2017


"I knew working with Aileen was the right choice for me when her response to my first panicked e-mail was “First things first - breathe.” My last job had left me feeling insecure about my abilities and I was terrified to start the process of finding a new one.  Working with Aileen made the process far less daunting and ultimately, incredibly beneficial.

Aileen broke the process into manageable goals and steps.  This meant that I could feel accomplished along the way instead of feeling like every day without a new job was a failure. She also helped me outline what I was really looking for in a new job which kept me from accepting a new position simply because it was offered to me.

With Aileen’s guidance and feedback, I was incredibly prepared to interview. I was able to focus on being myself during interviews because I had done all of the necessary research, thought through my responses to the tough questions, and I was confident in my appearance…after sending Aileen pictures from the mall while suit shopping. Lastly, she gently held me accountable.  I loved knowing that in order to get the most out of our sessions, I needed to make progress on the goals we had outlined together.  This meant less time paralyzed by anxiety and more time actually making progress." Tori Merceer, November 2017


I had the distinct pleasure and good fortune of having Aileen as my career counselor. Needless to say, she was absolutely PHENOMENAL!!! She gave tremendous amount of time and focus to make sure the resume was top-notch and did the same for the cover letter. When preparing for several different interviews, she provided tailored advice and material to ensure I had the knowledge and tools to be successful in each interview and was a very valuable sounding-board when considering job offers. The outstanding aspect of Aileen is that she will prepare you spot-on for your professional goals while giving personal attention and care to making sure the process is as stress-free as possible. She knows and understands that process can be very stressful and the client only performs his/her best when the client is assured and confident. Her approach, style, and genuine concern and care brings assurance and confidence to the client and relieves the typical concerns clients face when preparing to advance their career. With Aileen you get the complete package, a splendid counselor who will undoubtedly prepare you for your career goals while making sure you feel assured, confident, and at-ease throughout the process. I give Aileen my highest recommendation and cannot emphasize enough her amazing skills and value in helping her clients reach their career goals. - David Park, July 2016


Aileen successfully helped me navigate through changing careers and getting my resume prepared after 7 years of not keeping it updated. She took a process which is stressful and overwhelming and was able to break it down into something that was manageable and that I could feel confident about. She expertly guided me through questions to help me quantify the type role that I was most interested in and then gave me the tools to help find those positions in the marketplace. She helped me set reasonable goals to ensure I was staying on track with my search and had numerous resources to aid in my interview preparation. Throughout the process Aileen warmly listened to and guided me through many concerns. She successfully helped my land a position I was extremely excited about.  I highly recommend her to anyone looking for career and life advice. - Alison Trumper,  June 2016


I had the pleasure of working with Aileen during my time as a student at The Fletcher School. As I pursued internship and job opportunities during that period, I met with Aileen for advice nearly every step of the way: brainstorming appropriate organizations to explore, crafting "cold-call" letters, tailoring application materials, and everything in between. On each occasion, Aileen was extremely well-prepared, had a friendly, positive attitude, and offered substantive recommendations -- I always left her office much more confident in my decisions and materials than when I had arrived. In addition to her top-notch professional skills, Aileen is one of the most kind, dedicated, and hard-working people I know. Her advice absolutely helped me grow and I have no doubt helped me succeed during my time at Fletcher and since. I couldn't recommend Aileen more highly as a career coach. She is, quite simply, the best. - Jackie Page, December 2015


Aileen is an incredible resource in Fletcher's Career Services office. She helped me navigate the ins-and-outs of the security clearance process, assess internship and job offers, and greatly reduced my stress as I attempted to figure out what I wanted to do with my life! While Aileen is amazing in so many ways, I think one of her most outstanding qualities is her ability to listen. Aileen never told me the job she thought I should want - she always made sure that my career decisions reflected my passions and aspirations. Aileen doesn't just help you find a job - she helps you find your life path. Thank you so very much, Aileen! - Meghan Quill, May 2016


I started the job search a few months ago and have approached Aileen a number of times for help on a variety of job search-related issues since then, and she was extremely helpful every time. Not only was the advice she gave always excellent, but I was impressed with how she always offered to help in some further fashion--if I had a quick question about a networking email she would provide the answer and then offer to go over the text of it with me; if I wanted some advice on an upcoming interview she would give it, and then offer to do a mock interview with me. I can't tell you how much I appreciated the above-and-beyond approach.

And I think this is an underrated quality, but it shouldn't be: she was always encouraging and upbeat when I spoke with her, which means a lot in the midst of a dismal job market. We all know how stressful the job search is, so having someone who not only is highly competent and helpful but also encouraging is a real boon for the Office of Career Services and students. - JM, November 2013


I have the pleasure of calling Aileen a colleague, mentor but more importantly, a friend and confidant. She is one of the most gifted career counselors who works tirelessly to meet the needs of our team and the students who are lucky enough to work with her. She provides the most practical advice and does so with warmth and a generous spirit. You can always feel confident that no matter how large the project, Aileen will devote 110% of her time to deliver the best final product. I highly recommend Aileen's work and feel fortunate that I have the opportunity to work with her every day. - My Doan, Senior Associate Director at The Fletcher School, October 2015


In 2013, Aileen helped me prepare for both the Presidential Management Fellowship and Foreign Service examinations. I met with her regularly throughout the processes, which involve both written and oral test components. For the written portions, Aileen reviewed and edited my essays until the writing was both precise as well as an accurate reflection of who I am and what I'd contribute to the State Department. To prepare for the (dreaded, high-stakes) oral components, Aileen practiced with me regularly for several months leading up to the tests. She set up simulated exams and posed to me hypothetical questions so I could practice my responses while thinking on my feet. She also recorded me answering questions, and we reviewed the video together to analyze my body language and tone. This was the most helpful part of the preparation process, even though watching myself on tape is a self-conscious process. It helped me to realize that delivering my answers with poise and self-assurance was equally as critical as the content of the answers themselves. Through it all, Aileen's savvy combination of enthusiastic support and concrete feedback gave me the confidence and skills to test successfully in both examinations. I am now a Foreign Service Officer serving in my dream post, in the press section at the U.S. Embassy in Cairo. Thank you, Aileen, for all your help and encouragement over the years! - Claire Duffett, January 2016


You helped me edit and formulate my cover letters for internships at the State Department and the Millennium Challenge Corporation. I wanted to let you know that I recently accepted an internship in the Office of Anti-Crime Programs at the Bureau of International Narcotics and Law Enforcement at State for this summer. I wanted to thank you so much for all of your help on the cover letter. I was told that one of the factors that made my resume stand out was the quality of the cover letter and resume, so I wanted to let you know that you had a great impact on the success of my application. - HN, January 2015


Your help has been invaluable to me in achieving this goal; by supporting me when the road was tough and I had my doubts and walking me through the world of career development in the (for me) uncharted territory of the DC NGO and think-tank sector. I want to express my deep appreciation and gratitude for all of your support - I couldn't have done it without you.

- MR, December 2014


Thank you so much for helping me with my resume, cover letters, interviews etc. and being so supportive. I feel much more confident about the whole job application process and putting myself out there, and I'm sure this was reflected in my application for this position.    - SC, October 2014


I wanted to send you a brief note expressing my gratitude for the time we spent together discussing higher education and my resume. I have had significantly more responses on positions I have applied for since updating my resume, and I am waiting to hear back from two this week! Your advice clearly put me in a better position to market myself and discuss my experiences. Thank you so much!

- AF, August 2014


I'm not sure if you remember me - I met with you a few times while still a student at Northeastern. You provided great help and support as I applied to positions at Partners in Health and Harvard Medical School. Since we met several years back, I landed a position at Harvard and am now on a path towards nursing school.

I just wanted to pop in to say thank you again for your support back when I was just branching out into the working world. You helped coach me to a place where I would be embraced by esteemed institutions and for that I am still so grateful. - AS, September 2012